inventory sorting · Tutorials

Inventory Chaos Part 1: Folder Shuffle

Inventory Chaos – table of contents
— Part 1: Folder Shuffle [you are here]
Part 2: Gadgets
Part 3: Good Habits

avi vs inv 2014 001 A

The biggest problem, other than my lack of motivation, depression, and hectic first life, is the current state of my inventory. I know a lot of people have a messy inventory, and it’s alright. I know your pain. But for me, I get real tired of not finding something in the chaos and lots of things are not where it should be at all. I even have things that were from 2014 and before that needed to been sorted and cataloged… but are still in these temporary folders I make.

And that’s what this post is going to be about; folders. But before I get into that, I’ll explain what I want to do. This is part one of many posts to come about my messy inventory and how I am trying to deal with it. I suppose it can be one huge tutorial or set of tutorials, with me trying to record on how I do things so that maybe I can DO IT instead of letting it build up more. (It’s funny how I do this while in the process of moving IRL…)

Of course, I will have some advice that I have learned while using SL for various things. And I’ll attempt to keep a good schedule and routine whenever I log on and the like. So here we go… deep into my 71k+ inventory…

02-03-2016_invblog 01

This is what most of my inventory looks like… I remember when I was worrying about only 15k+ items back in 2013… now I have over 4x that amount. The thing I like doing instead of just putting these into the main folders where they belong… is to just shove them into an already stuffed folder, then put THAT folder into another… and so on.

But this is bad, for now I have to open a folder, then go through it with many other folders inside never knowing what anything looks like or is even something that can be worn by the avatar. Plus, there are folders from hunts that I have done and even lucky board and gacha folders…

This is the madness that I put myself into, and I am slowly going to end it. The first thing I do is either go home, or go to a sandbox if one doesn’t own any land. I then just find a little open spot to be and sort things by memory of what it is or by the name of the item. If I don’t know, then I’ll just rez it on the ground to see what it is, basic stuff.

02-03-2016_invblog 02

I have many, many folders and a lot of them have doubles of the same type! Like having two of each type of clothing folder… It’s a bad habit of mine. But if I have those big folders with lots of things in it, or the gacha folders, where I make some basic folders to tell me if the gacha items are clothing, home stuff, accessories, body parts or something more.

In the next part I will give some more advice that might help more to keep organized. But for now, for now, I would just keep putting things into one big folder and then sorting them specifically in a folder outside of the BODY PARTS, CLOTHING, etc main folders, until they are cataloged – I’ll talk about in the next post.

2 thoughts on “Inventory Chaos Part 1: Folder Shuffle

Leave a Reply

