Dumb Text · Ranty Rants

I love the skin I’m in…

I love the skin I'm in... A

I just wanted to make a post about something that I’ve been getting upset over for a little while now. Most of my encounters with other residents have been very kind and problem-free… but sometimes I have encountered some residents who don’t exactly appreciate how my avatar looks.

I find it hurtful that some folks don’t like my avatar simply because of her skin. The skin I chose for her is a high quality skin (by Pink Fuel) and yet that’s not the problem, it’s the tone I chose. I am tan in real life, with dark eyes and brown hair, I am female and I am short. So I chose my avatar to look at least somewhat like this description. Because I wanted my Second Life to BE my Second Life – my avatar is ME. I’m one of those people who take things like this to heart, and that’s why I try my best to have Miel’s default look like so: tan skin, short, dark brown hair (or just brown hair in general) and brown eyes.

I love the skin I'm in... B

So of course I’d get my feelings hurt when some folks don’t like my avatar because of her skintone. They usually don’t say it outright, but I know the implication when I see it. I deal with racism sometimes in real life – but mostly because I am mixed. This is usually the first topic someone comes up with when talking to me for the first time in real life. I know that they don’t know me but that’s the thing… They DON’T know me. Most others try to act like they know who and what I am the first we meet. And they apparently know why I’m here too. Their faces when they get it wrong… it’s like I slapped them in the face right then and there. One even got offended as if I did slap her (I merely just corrected her) after I had said, almost four times, that I am not the race (and nationality I might add…)

I needed to rant about how people shouldn’t dislike me or my avatar just because she and I happen to be tan skinned. She’s not going to change, I am not going to buy the same skin in a lighter color. Or have one of my white skins be my new default. Nope. Not happening. I like Miel how she is. I am satisfied with everything I choose for her. I only wish some people would think a little harder before trying to poke fun at or reject my avi because she is tan.


Photo(s) @ Baja Norte
Pose(s) | Gal in Love by ZZANG (Hushhushhush Resident) [The Chapter Four Round 10]

:: BODY ::
Skin| Alyx (Hazel) by Pink Fuel (Mochi Milena)
Eyes | Lucid Eyes in Coffee by IKON (Ikon Innovia)
Hair | Curious by Magika (Sabina Gully)
Hands | AvEnhance Hands Female – Splayed by SLink (Siddean Munro)
Feet | Womens Flat Barefeet by SLink (Siddean Munro)

:: MAKEUP ::
Eyelashes | Flutter Falsies by Candy Mountain (Mynx Legend)
Nailpolish | Les Vernis – Metals by Ma Vie (Mavi Beck) [gacha]

:: CLOTHES ::
T-Shirt | Love the Skin T-Shirt by LaNoir Soleil Designs (SonnetSoleil Resident, Caresia Adored, MadamAemilius Resident)
Shorts | High Waist Shorts in White by Viva la Glam (Chloris Hathor)

Leave a Reply

